Standards-Based Grading Standards-Based Grading Overview


Walking Through Standards-Based Grading


The Skinny on Standards-Based Grading


The Use of Standards-Based Grading is Growing


Seven Reasons for Standards-Based Grading

Select events from other calendars  
Initial value
Daily View of Events Weekly View of Events Monthly View of Events Yearly View of Events Display Today's Events Print Export Events Subscribe to email alerts Subscribe via iCal/RSS


Greetings Parents!

It’s hard to believe that we have come to the end of the first nine weeks of the school year. Throughout these past nine weeks, I have made some observations in regard to grades and student achievement. During orientation, I stressed to you all how important it is for students to know grade-level content. Earning a particular letter grade has a meaning behind it. If a student earns an A, that means he or she knows the content well above grade-level expectations and can teach it to someone. Earning a B means that the student is proficient and meets the grade-level standard. If a student earns a C, it means he or she understands the concept, may partially meet the grade-level standard. A D grade means the student is approaching grade-level standards. An F means that the student does not meet grade-level standards.  I notice that students are so focused on getting the grade and not learning the concept or skill. 

Traditional grading is something that we are all used to because it has been the only way that teachers assess students for years. Research suggests that it is not the best approach to accurately grade students on their knowledge of grade-level content or standards. For this reason, I am implementing standards-based grading in my classroom.  As you know, our school uses FOCUS to monitor students’ progress in the classroom. This comes in the form of a letter grade. Because this system is in place, letter grades will still be given, however, the grade will reflect the students’ proficiency level for a specific standard. Instead of assignments, standards will be posted in FOCUS. Students will receive a grade based on the following proficiency scale:

5  = Exceeds grade-level standards (A) 4  = Meets grade-level standards (B)

3.5 = Partially meets grade-level standards (C)

3 = Approaching grade-level standards (D)

2.5 = Does not meet grade-level standard (F)

N/E or I - No Evidence or Incomplete (Missing); used in Google Classroom if the student does not complete a task

There will be one weight category titled “Learning Targets.” Each learning target will be specified in the assignment title. 


All learning tasks will be posted in Google Classroom. An assignment will be “Formative” ( focusing on one standard) or “Summative” ( focusing on multiple standards). Every standard has a learning target. At the beginning of every lesson, I will go over the learning target for the standard. Students will understand the goal/target for each level in order to receive that score. Students will still be able to monitor their level of learning. Many of the learning tasks (formative or summative) will assess them on their understanding of specific standards. Multiple choice tasks will be limited. Much of the tasks will involve students giving an answer and explaining that answer in written form, a verbal response, or by creating a product (project). Students will complete a minimum of four tasks to fully assess their knowledge of a standard. 

Please be mindful that this is a work in progress. Some things may change as the year progresses.

As always, your support is appreciated throughout this process. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.


Ms. Forbes

Contact Ms. Forbes


Parent Square

If you would like to learn more about standards-based grading, click on the links below.

Standards-Based Grading Overview